1 - Rome: Greek Introduction
From Troy to Aeneas 

Presentation

We will discover and analyze the history and vicissitudes of cities and civilizations of Greek and Roman times such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Oplontis and many others, which characterized the entire perimeter plain of this mountain that already in the times older ones were called Vesuvius. We could in no way begin this work of research and study, without letting ourselves be initiated by the facts and historical events that may have occurred not at birth, but certainly at the development of these cities. Towards the end of their existence, even before Vesuvius in its great "magnanimity" we safeguard them so that a thorough study is possible some millennium after, they lived in an opulence without equal, and their position in the context of the moment was certainly not insignificant. The eruption of 79 then froze the time, so that we find it awake today. So to speak of Rome and to understand how its birth has conditioned the ancient world and therefore these cities too, will allow us to better discover and know them. The contribution of Rome in this plain dictates of Vesuvius, has conditioned prodigiously what we are going to visualize today, to analyze it is therefore a step almost obligatory .......


.

Greece

Starting in a strict search on a theme like Rome, requires us to follow two different directions, on the one hand the 'Myth', with its good dose of abstract that it entailed, very much related to the history of the Greece, and on the other hand try to find correspondence in the archeological sheets hoping that they could comfort the mythological assumptions that are still not too real. The 10-20 ° century BC, remains for the Italic earth a period of great myths and mysteries, it was positioned in the middle of two very distinct zone, between the known and the unknown; to orient the Greeks with the civilizations of Crete and Mycenae, without forgetting the Middle Eastern empires, places of knowledge and knowledge; the West a world of mystery where we knew almost nothing, and where history was all created. The 'italic' region becomes transition zone and borders for unknown land, to dominate and organize, but also center of great migratory movements that will be characterized by the sense of these regions: the Etruscans who leave Central Asia for s' establish in Tuscany in search of fertile land, and the Greek eros like Ulysses and Diomedes who leave one towards the Tyrrhenian Sea the other for the Adriatic Sea, and always Troy, with the departure of his prince beaten Aeneas in search of new lands to discover. We are around the 15th century BC, the story is written ... ..


EVANDROS : The Mythological Facts ......... 

In the oldest mythological origins, it is said that the god Saturn abandoned Olympus to descend to earth and live with men; he was persecuted and forced to hide in order to save himself from the anger of the gods. The place where he found his serenity was called Latium, in Latin, "Cachette", and the people who will live there later will be called Latini or Latins. This place has welcomed the god Saturn, and it will make this land calm and without violence.
Ovid and Virgil, we learn that the first inhabitants of Lazio, then wild, were the fauns and the nymphs, primordial beings born of the same elements of the nature. The men who came later then found a peaceful and idyllic environment, ruled by Saturn, a benevolent god, awakening the riches of the earth and the fertility of the plant kingdom. This primordial being was then incorrectly associated with Cronos who, as we are told, was dethroned by his son Jupiter (Zeus) to become the italic king of the age of well-being and the main deity of Lazio. All the ancient Latin peoples were called "saturnia people". Italy itself, as Virgil asserts, was originally called "Terrae Saturniae".

The bountiful and peaceful age ended, while the civil cohabitation of the people was replaced by theft, with discord and with the war. The dark times began with the raids of Ausoni (Osque people of Campania) and Sicanes (peoples of Sicily) against which the Arcadian people of King Evander, a population of Greek immigrants from Pallante in Arcadia, was forced to fight. After various vicissitudes they arrived and settled on the hill called later Palatine, where they founded a first village they called Pallantium or Palatium from which derives the name of the Palatine Hill. A representative of these thieving and corrupt peoples who opposed the new arrivals was Cacus, son of the god of fire Hephaestus (Vulcan) and Medusa. He had taken refuge on Aventine Hill in a vast and horrible cavern; he had a giant physical constitution and for that he terrorized the neighboring populations to whom he spared no occasion of crime for his innate malice.
His misdeeds ended with the intervention of Hercules who passed with the flock of Geryon. The giant Cacus then, will take advantage of his sleep to rob him of cattle with a clever expedient, leading them into his cave. When he awoke, Hercules resumed his journey, not knowing that cattle had been stolen. As he approached the cave of the Cacus, he heard the plaintive bellow of the captive beasts in response to the bellowing of his flock. Counting the beasts, he noticed the flight and immediately rushed into the cavern where, seized with fury, he attacked the rock of the cavern to shake him with great power. In front of this fury, the earth trembled and the hero, discovered the cave, where the giant died.

When Hercules visited King Evander, he welcomed him, purified him of the murder of Cacus, he recognized his great worth and his divine origin and, by gratitude, he devoted his worship to the Ara Maxima, between the Palatine and the Aventine . the Cult of Hercules then brought to the provinces of Campania. Evander, the Greek hero son of Hermes and the nymph Nicostrata, was a good king. This quality is also expressed by its name, in Greek Euandros which means etymologically "good man". The reason for his migration from Pallante to Arcadia, which dates back to a few decades before the end of Troy, changes according to the story told. Probably, it could have been caused by a famine or a popular uprising. Arrived on the lands of Lazio, he settled with his mother and a group of Pelasginians on the Palatine Hill, to found his mythical city in honor of his ancestor Pallanteo. Here, he was well received and welcomed by the aborigines but he had to fight against the giant Erilus de Preneste, son of the goddess Feronia.
The Palatine Hill was chosen by Nicostrata, called Carmenta by the inhabitants. She receives prophetic gifts and will help her son in the mission of civilization of the territory. Evander will become propagator of just laws and taught the natives the art of writing, music and agriculture, worship of the gods of Arcadia of Ceres (Demeter), Neptune (Poseidon) and especially he transforms the cult pre-existing god Faune Lupercus, a beneficent god who was very recognized here, descended from the god Mars, protector of herds and shepherds, to that of his similar Greek Pan-Licio, in honor of which were instituted the festivals of Lupercalia which were celebrated on the Palatine in February. According to some sources, Faune was a primitive king of Lazio considered the son of Circe and Jupiter and father of the next King Latinus. He was also the protector of the fauns, rural demons of the shepherds, equivalent to the Hellenic satyrs. Like the satyrs they had indeed a double nature: half men and half animals, with horns and goats' hooves.

[...... Reference Wikipedia: Lupercales
The Lupercalia are, in ancient Rome, annual festivals celebrated by the luperques (Luperques gathered in the college of Luperques were priests of ancient Rome) from February 13 to 15, near a cave called Lupercal (located at foot of Palatine Hill and probably discovered in November 2007), in honor of Faunus, god of herds who defended them against wolves, hence the term Lupercus attributed to him. ....]

The Pan-Modified Wildlife cult involved a Lupercus procession, in which half-naked youths, dressed only in goatskin, ran through the streets, beating women who met with leather straps to promote their fertility. Another very important cult was addressed to Fauna, wife of Fauno, also called "Bona Dea", who had her sanctuary under the Aventine. Here, every year, women and girls celebrated their mysteries with the absolute exclusion of men, who in turn excluded them from that of Hercules. Evander and his mother Carmenta received the honor of an altar, that of Evander was built at the foot of the Aventine, near the Trigemina Gate and that of Carmenta at the foot of the Capitolium, near the door Carmentalis.

Meanwhile, in Greece, a few decades later, a perverse war in the country, between Athens and Troy ...... ..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Paris Trojan prince 

The Trojan war, which highlights the Athenians and the Trojans rivalry is a war which follows the abduction of Helen, wife of Menelaus, King of Sparta, by the Trojan Paris. It is Homer makes us an almost full story and that we learn about the kinds of this conflict.
In Greek mythology, Paris also called Alexander, is the Trojan Prince, first son of Priam King of Sparta and his wife Hecuba. Pregnant Hecuba, receives an omen in a dream, he tells him that the future prince she carries in her womb will cause the destruction of the city of Troy after long battles. Seized by fear, King Priam ordered her other son Aesacros, that he had his wife previous called Arisbe, the born future is murdered: Paris will not be killed, but rather driven on Mount Ida, where it will be abandoned to his fate. Taken in by a group of shepherds, given the name of Alexandre, son protected by the mountain; It will be high and will grow up in peace. As an adult, it recognize its legitimate position of prince of Troy, son of Priam. The prince was good-looking and smart, he therefore drew the attention of Zeus, the supreme of Olympus. He sent Hermes to choose a wise and good man, and Hermes chooses Paris; It will be intended to choose which among the three most beautiful goddess of Olympus, deserves the Apple of discord. Indeed, when the gods were assembled for the celebration of the marriage of Thetis and LEEP, the goddess Eris, Goddess of discord, had not been admitted to participated at this party because ellen' was not considered to be part of the gods of Olympus, she wanted so to avenge. She plucked a magical golden apples that is valuable to the garden of Hesperides, on which she serious registration for the most beautiful, before launching it on Olympus, in the middle of them.

Helene Raptor

The three goddesses Aphrodite, Athena and Hera, find her and each thinks that she is destined, so claim her. Now, Hermes having found this shepherd Paris, it is to him who encumbers the task of deciding who deserves the Apple of Discord. The three divinities promise Paris presents to influence his choice: Athena promises him the victory, Hera tells him who are his biological parents and Aphrodite the love of who he wants, probably the most beautiful. Paris finally offers the prize to Aphrodite. He is henceforth protected by this goddess who will favor all his enterprises, and Aphrodite to thank him, promises him the love of the most beautiful woman, Helen of Menelaus kings of Sparta. Once his rank was recognized and found at Sparta, Paris took advantage of the absence of King Menelaus, who had gone to Crete, to remove Helen, Queen of Sparta. According to some versions, Paris seduces Helen and persuades her to flee with him to Troy. Ulysses and Menelaus go to Troy to claim the fugitive. But the different embassies remain unsuccessful. Menelaus once returned, then reminds the Greek kings of the oath they took to protect Helen whatever happens, and asks them to gather their armies to attack Troy. Many kings answer the call of Menelaus. The army led by Agamemnon, king of Mycenae, and brother of Menelaus, was sent to Troy to bring back the abducted wife. This is the beginning of the Trojan War, which will last ten years according to the stories of the Iliad.

Trojan War

The Greeks besiege Troy for ten years. The city with its citadel Pergamum is heroically defended by the Trojans. The unfolding of the war advances despite everything and everyone on his side accumulates victories and defeats, alternating successes and setbacks on both sides. This war was absolutely over and we had to find a solution. The Greek fleet besieging the city on the sea side decided to leave and give the impression of abandoning its assault. They arm the boats beyond the visual behind rocks, but before that, by order and initiative of Ulysses, the Greeks build a large wooden horse that they abandon on the shores of Troy. In this hidden horse, a contingent of armed soldiers. The departure of the ships of the Trojans, suggests that the Greek abandon the battle and that the war is finally over without restitution of Helen. Content of such a tour of facts, the Trojans let go at the party and head to the shores to retrieve the wooden Grand Horse to bring it to town and keep it as a souvenir of a victory dedicated to the Goddess Pallas-Athena. When darkness comes, Ulysses with a thousand ruses and his companions come out of the horse. They open the doors. The Greeks, who waited only for the signal, come out of their hiding place and come to help sack the city of which there will be only one survivor Aeneas who will have time to escape by the sea. teeth, all the Greeks are there. Troy is taken and set on fire, the Greeks are furious and nothing resists them. Men are killed, women and children kept as slaves. Menelaus is happy, he has found his wife, Helen.

Flight of Aeneas

Aeneas did not take part in the beginning of the Trojan War. But one day when he was keeping his flocks, he was attacked by Achilles, who stole some of his cattle. Aeneas fled to Lyrnessos but always pursued by Achilles, he had to flee under the protection of Zeus, and seek refuge in Troy, where he joined the Trojan army. He married one of Priam's daughters, Creuse, with whom he had a child, Ascagne whom he called Julus.
Aeneas, in Greek Aineias, son of Anchises and the goddess Aphroditeeneus is a Prince of Toe hero of the omonime war and also a hero of the Roman mytology, so much sung by Virgil. He was a brave warrior, he was one of the main Trojan leaders during the Trojan War, the most valiant warrior after Hector but he sometimes put himself in perilous situations, especially when he fought against Achilles. During the destruction of Troy and the murder of Priam and his family, Aeneas flees Troy sacked, carrying his father Anchises, blind and paralyzed, on his back, dragging his son Ascagne with one hand, holding in the other the gods of the city as well as the Palladium, the sacred statuette of Pallas-Athene. During the flight his wife, Creuse, lost himself. He was going to look for him when his shadow appeared to him indicating that she was now under the protection of Aphrodite. As for him, he had to leave with their son Ascagne and found a new dynasty.

Travel of Aeneas


|    Interactive image with the passage of the mouse   |

During an eventful trip in the Mediterranean described in the Aeneid. He made a stop in Thrace, passed through Delos, and then arrived in Crete. For more than seven years, he wandered the sea in search of a shore to welcome him, braving the storms and anger of the deities, especially that of Hera. On the point of touching the coasts of Italy, having made a stop in Sicily, at Drepanon, where the old Anchises died, the ships of Aeneas were suddenly thrown down by a storm on the African coast near Carthage. Queen Dido, the founder of Carthage, welcomed the hero and fell in love with her. During a hunting party when a storm has gathered in a cave, they become lovers. But the gods did not want a union between Dido and Aeneas; Zeus ordered him to return to the shores of Sicily, where he received the hospitality of King Alceste and celebrated funeral games in memory of his father. Having finally reached the coast of Italy at Cumae, he decided to rest some time in this ancient Greek colony, and here he descended to the underworld, guided by the Sibyl, to consult the shadow of his father and listen to him. tell him to found a city here and create other dynasties. Back among the living, he went to Lazio and he considers that the land is favorable for a new family to develop, which he will do.

Au cours d'un voyage mouvementé en Méditerranée décrit dans l'Enéide. Il fit escale en Thrace, passa par Délos, puis arriva en Crète. Pendant plus de sept ans, il erra ensuite sur la mer à la recherche d'un rivage pour l’accueillir, bravant les tempêtes et la colère des divinités, en particulier celle d'Héra. Sur le point de toucher les côtes d'Italie, après avoir fait étape en Sicile, à Drépanon, où le vieil Anchise mourut, les navires d'Énée furent rejetés brusquement par une tempête sur la côte africaine, près de Carthage. La reine Didon, la fondatrice de Carthage, y accueillit le héros et en tomba amoureuse. Au cours d'une partie de chasse alors qu'un orage les a réunis dans une grotte, ils deviennent amants. Mais les dieux ne souhaitaient pas une union entre Didon et Enée ; Zeus ordonna à celui-ci de regagner les rivages de la Sicile, où il reçut l'hospitalité du roi Alceste et il célébra des jeux funèbres en mémoire de son père. Parvenu enfin sur les côtes d'Italie, à Cumes, il décida de reposer quelque temps dans cette ancienne Colonie grecque, et ici il descendit aux Enfers, guidé par la Sibylle, pour consulter l'ombre de son père et l'écouter, il lui dira de fonder une ville ici et créer d'autres dynasties. Revenu parmi les vivants, il se dirigea vers le Latium et la il considère que la terre est favorable pour que une nouvelle famille se développe, ce qu'il fera.

Aeneas in Lazio

Resuming the sea after having remained for some time in Carthage near Queen Elyssa, Didon for the Romans, Aeneas returning to the Tyrrhenian Sea, approaches the peninsular coast of southern Italy and, during a storm, near the region of Lucania in Calabria, he lost one of these most faithful Palinure men. It will be buried on the coast even in these places near a castling which will take the still existing name of Palinuro. Aeneas is traveling again because these Calabrian lands were too mountainous and lack of water sources was important. It continues towards the north and will arrive in the land dictates of the "Phalerum" that people the Falerii who will later take the denomination of Parthenopeans and, to the conquest of the Romans, this land will be called Neapolis. After a brief stay not far in the Greek colony of Cumae where he will speak to his father Anchise thanks to the help of the Sybille, the latter will inform him that the Greek troops his not far from looking for him, it was therefore necessary that he hurry up to find a place in this land to refuse.
After two days of sailing, in a beautiful morning of sun were found facing a rich coast with a beautiful plain back, crossed by a river of large dimensions. He had arrived on the lands of King Latinus, these inhabitants of the shepherds of average bill the Latins, he was at LATIUM.


PreviousPage 1 of 6

1 - Rome : Introduction Grecque
De Troie à Enée 

Présentation

Nous allons  découvrir et analyser l'histoire et les vicissitudes, de villes et civilisations d'époque grecque et romaine comme Pompéi, Herculanum, Oplontis et bien d'autres, qui ont caractérisé toute la plaine périmètrale  de cette Montagne que déjà dans les époques les plus anciennes on appelait Vésuve. Nous ne pourrions nullement commencer ce travail de recherche et d'étude, sans de nous laisser initier par les faits et les événements historiques qui ont porté peut être pas à la naissance mais certainement  au développement de ces cités. Vers la fin de leurs existence, avant même que le Vésuve dans sa grande "magnanimité" nous les sauvegardes pour que un étude approfondi soit possible quelque millénaire après, elles vivaient dans une opulence sans égale , et leur position dans le contexte  du moment n'était certainement pas négligeable. L'éruption de 79  a ensuite gelé le temps, pour qu'on le retrouve bien éveillé aujourd'hui. Parler donc de Rome et comprendre comme  sa naissance a conditionné le monde ancien et donc ces cités aussi, nous permettras de mieux les découvrir et connaître.  La contribution de Rome dans cette plaine dicte du Vésuve, a influencé  ce que nous allons visualiser aujourd'hui, l'analyser est donc une étape quasi obligatoire…….

______________________________________________________________________

La Grece

sghyjdtyjkdtdtg

Partir dans une recherche stricte sur un thème comme Rome, nous oblige à suivre deux directions diverses; d'un coté le 'Mythe',  avec sa bonne dose d'abstrait que cela comporte, très lié d'ailleurs a l'histoire de la Grèce, et, de l'autre coté essayer de trouver correspondance dans les fouilles archéologique en espérant que ces dernières pouvaient réconforter les hypothèses mythologique qui restent toujours pas trop réels. Le 20-10° siècle avant JC, reste pour la terre italique une période de grands mythes et mystères, elle se positionnait au milieu de deux grands mondes bien distinctes, confins entre le connu et l'inconnu;  a orient les Grecques avec les civilisations de Crête et Mycènes, sans oublier les empires moyens orientales, lieux de connaissance et savoir; l'Occident un monde de mystère ou l'on ne connaissait presque rien, et ou l'histoire était toute a crées. La région 'italique' deviens zone de transition et confins pour des terre méconnues, à dominer et organiser, mais aussi centre de grands mouvements migratoires qui vont se caractériser par le sens de ces régions: les Etrusque qui laissent l'Asie centrale pour s'établir en Toscane en quête de terres fertiles, et les éros grecques comme Ulysse et Diomède qui partent l'un vers la Mer Tyrrhénienne l'autre pour la Mer Adriatique, et toujours Troie, avec le départ de son prince battu Enée a la recherche de terres nouvelles a découvrir, alors que Evandre connaissait deja ces terres. Nous somme aux alentours du 25° siècle avant JC, l'histoire s'écrit à cheval entre mythe et faits historiques…..


EVANDRE : les faits mythologiques........ 

ghjdhj,dgh,kg

Dans les plus anciennes origines mythologiques, l'on raconte que le dieu Saturne abandonna l'Olympe pour descendre sur terre et vivre avec les hommes; il fut persécuté et fut forcé de se cacher afin de se sauver de la colère des Dieux. L'endroit où il trouva sa sérénité s'appelait Latium, en latin, "Cachette", et les gens qui l'habiteront plus tard s'appelleront Latini ou Latins. Cet endroit a accueilli le dieu Saturne, et il rendra cette terre calme et sans violence.
Ovide et Virgile, nous apprennent que les premiers habitants du Latium, alors sauvage, étaient les faunes et les nymphes, êtres primordiaux nés des mêmes éléments de la nature. Les hommes venus plus tard ont alors trouvé un environnement paisible et idyllique, régi par Saturne, un dieu bienveillant, éveillant les richesses de la terre et la fécondité du règne végétal. Cet être primordial était alors incorrectement associé à Cronos qui, comme on nous le dit, fut détrôné par son fils Jupiter (Zeus) pour devenir le roi italique de l'âge du bien-être et de la divinité principale du Latium. Tous les anciens peuples latins s'appelaient  en effet "gens saturnia". L'Italie elle-même, comme l'affirme Virgile, s'appelait à l'origine "Terrae Saturniae".

fhyfyjfylyiy

L'âge bienfaisant et paisible, fini, alors que la cohabitation civile du peuple fut remplacée par le vol, avec la discorde et avec la guerre. Les temps obscurs commencèrent avec les raids des Ausoni (peuple Osque de  Campanie) et des Sicanes (peuples de Sicile) contre lesquels le peuple Arcadien du roi Evandre, une population d'immigrants grecs de Pallante en Arcadie, fut obligé de combattre. Après diverses vicissitudes ils arrivèrent et s'installèrent sur la colline appelée par la suite Palatin, ou ils fondèrent un premier village qu'ils appelèrent Pallantium ou Palatium d'où dérive le nom de la colline Palatine. Un représentant de ces peuples voleurs et corrompus qui s'opposaient aux nouveaux arrivants, était Cacus, fils du dieu du feu Héphaïstos (Vulcain) et de Méduse. Il s'était réfugié sur la colline de l'Aventin dans une vaste et horrible caverne; il avait une constitution phisique géante et pour cela, il terrorisait les populations voisines auxquelles il n'épargnait aucune occasion de crime pour sa méchanceté innée.
Ses méfaits se terminèrent par l'intervention d'Hercule qui passa avec le troupeau de Géryon. Le géant Cacus alors, profitera de son sommeil pour lui voler du bétail avec un expédient habile, en les menant dans sa caverne. Quand il se réveilla, Hercule reprit son voyage, sans savoir que du bétail avait été volé. Comme il s'approcha de la caverne du Cacus, il entendit le beuglement plaintif des bêtes  prisonnières en réponse au beuglement de son troupeau. En comptant les bêtes, il remarqua le vol et se précipita immédiatement dans la caverne où, saisi de fureur, il attaqua le rocher de la caverne pour le secouer avec une grande puissance. Devant cette furie, la terre trembla et le héros, découvrit la grotte, parqua le géant  mourut.

fuykrylryilyil

Quand Hercule visita le roi Evandre, il l'accueillit, le purifia du meurtre de Cacus, il reconnut sa grande valeur et son origine divine et, par gratitude, il voua son culte à l'Ara Maxima, entre le Palatin et l'Aventin. , le Culte d'Hercule apporté ensuite dans les provinces de Campanie.  Evandre, le héros grec fils d'Hermès et la nymphe Nicostrata, était un bon roi. Cette qualité s'exprime aussi par son nom , en grec  Euandros qui signifie étymologiquement "homme bon". La raison de sa migration de la ville de Pallante en Arcadie, qui remonte à quelques décennies avant la fin de Troie, change selon la version racontée. Probablement, cela  pourrait avoir été causé par une famine ou un soulèvement populaire. Arrivé sur les terres du Latium, il s'installe avec sa mère et un groupe de Pelasginiens  sur la colline du Palatin, pour fonder sa cité mythique en l'honneur de son ancetre  Pallanteo. Ici, il fut bien reçu et accueilli par les aborigènes mais il  dû se battre contre le géant Erilus de Preneste, fils de la déesse Feronia.
La colline du Palatin avait été choisie par Nicostrata, appelée Carmenta par les habitants. Elle reçois des dons prophétiques et vas aider son fils dans la mission de civilisation du territoire. Evandre deviendras  propagateur de lois justes et enseigna aux indigènes l'art de l'écriture, la musique et de l'agriculture, le culte des dieux d'Arcadie de Cérès (Déméter), de Neptune (Poséidon) et surtout il transforme le culte préexistante du dieu Faune Lupercus , un dieu bienfaisant qui était très reconnu ici, descendant du dieu Mars, protecteur des troupeaux et des bergers, en celui de son similaire grec Pan-Licio, en l'honneur du quel furent instituées les fêtes des Lupercales qui étaient célébrées sur le Palatin en Février. Selon certaines sources, Faune était un roi primitif du Latium considéré comme le fils de Circé et Jupiter et père du suivant roi Latinus. Il était aussi le protecteur des faunes, des démons ruraux des bergers, équivalents aux satyres helléniques. Comme les satyres ils avaient en effet une double nature: moitié hommes et moitié animaux, avec cornes et sabots de chèvre.

[……Reference Wikipedia : Lupercales
Les Lupercales sont, dans la Rome antique, des fêtes annuelles célébrées par les luperques (les Luperques rassemblés dans le collège des Luperques étaient des prêtres de la Rome antique) du 13 au 15 février, près d'une grotte nommée le Lupercal (située au pied du mont Palatin et probablement découverte en novembre 2007), en l'honneur de Faunus, dieu des troupeaux qui les défendait contre les loups, d'où le qualificatif de Lupercus qui lui est attribué. ….]

hkrylilfu

Le culte du Faune modifié en celui de Pan impliquait une procession de Luperques, durant laquelle des jeunes à moitié nus, vêtus seulement d'une peau de chèvre, couraient dans les rues en battant notamment les femmes qui rencontraient avec des lanières de cuir frais pour favoriser leur fertilité . Un autre culte très important était adressé à Fauna, épouse de Fauno, également appelée "Bona Dea", qui avait son sanctuaire sous l'Aventin. Ici, chaque année, les femmes et les filles célébraient leurs mystères avec l'exclusion absolue des hommes, qui à leur tour les excluaient de celle d'Hercule. Evandre et sa mère Carmenta ont reçu l'honneur d'un autel, celui d'Evandre a été construit au pied de l'Aventin, près de la Porte Trigemina et de celle de Carmenta au pied du Capitolium, près de la porte Carmentalis.

Pendant ce temps, en Grèce, quelques décennies plus tard, une guerre perverse dans le pays, entre Athènes et Troie……..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Paris prince troyen

butedkuk

La Guerre de Troie, qui met en rivalité les Athéniens et les Troyens, est une guerre qui fait suite à l'enlèvement d'Hélène, épouse du Ménélas, roi de Sparte, par le Troyen Pâris. C'est HOmère qui nous fait un récit  quasi détaillé et qui nous apprends sur les sortes de ce conflit.
         Dans la mythologie grecque, Pâris appellé aussi Alexandre, est le Prince Troyen,  premier fils de Priam roi de Sparte, et sa femme Hécube. Enceinte Hécube, reçoit  un présage en rêve, il lui annonce que le futur prince qu'elle porte dans son ventre provoquera la destruction de la ville de Troie après de longues batailles. Pris de peur, le roi Priam ordonne à son autre fils Aesacros, qu'il avait eu de son epouse precedente appellée Arisbé, que le futur né soit assassinés: Pâris ne sera pas tué, mais plutot conduit sur le Mont Ida où il sera abandonné à son sort. Recueilli par un groupe de bergers, on lui donnera le nom de Alexandre, "fils protegé" par la montagne; il sera élevé  et grandira dans la sérénité. Devenu adulte, il fait reconnaître son rang légitime de prince de Troie, fils de Priam. Le prince était beau et intelligent, il attira donc l'attention de Zeus, le suprême de l'Olympe. Il envoi Hermès pour choisir un homme sage et beau, et Hermès choisira Paris; il sera destiné a choisir laquelle entre les trois plus belles Déesse  de l'Olympe,  mérite la Pomme de Discorde. En effet, lorsque les Dieux etaient assemblés pour la fete des noces de  Thetis et Plée,  la déesse Eris, déesse de la discorde, n'avait pas été admise à participé a cette fete car ellen'etait  pas considerée comme à faire partie des dieux de l'Olympe, elle désirait donc se venger. Elle  cueillit une  pommes d'or magiques et précieuse du Jardin des Hespérides, sur lequel elle grave l'inscription "Pour la plus belle", avant de la lancer sur l'Olympe, au milieux d'eux. 

Rapt d'Hélene

jkdtkgkg

Les trois déesses  Aphrodite, Athéna et Héra, la retrouvent et chacune pense que lui est destinée, donc la revendiquent. Or, Hermès ayant trouvé ce berger Paris, c'est a lui qui encombre la tache de décider qui mérite la Pomme de Discorde. Les trois divinités promettent à Pâris des présents afin d’influencer son choix : Athéna lui promet la victoire, Héra lui dit qui sont ses parents biologiques et Aphrodite l'amour de qui il voudra, sans doute la plus belle. Pâris offre finalement le prix à Aphrodite. Il est donc désormais protégé par cette déesse qui va favoriser toutes ses entreprises, et Aphrodite pour le remercier, lui promet l'amour de la plus belle femme; ayant aimé Oenoné sur le Mont Ida, il pensais qu'il s'agissait d'elle, il s'agissait en realité de  Hélène, femme de Ménélas rois de Sparte. Une fois que son rang fut reconnu, Paris part à Sparte accompagné de Enée, cela ordonné par Aphrodite. Henelos et Cassandre eurent beaucoup de mal à  dissoider de partir car cela aurait causé beaucoup de probleme, mais Paris partira;  Pâris profitera de l’absence du roi Ménélas, parti en Crète pour les funerailles de Catrée  pour se faire aimer par Helene reine de Sparte, et pour ensuite la enlever.   Selon certaines versions, Pâris séduit Hélène et la persuade de s’enfuir avec lui à Troie. Ulysse et Ménélas se rendent à Troie pour réclamer la fugitive. Mais les différentes ambassades restent sans succès. Ménélas une fois rentré, rappelle alors aux rois grecs le serment qu'ils ont fait de protéger Hélène quoi qu'il arrive, et leur demande de rassembler leurs armées pour attaquer Troie. De nombreux rois répondent à l'appel de Ménélas. L'armée dirigée par Agamemnon, roi de Mycènes, et frère de Ménélas, est dépêchée à Troie pour ramener l’épouse enlevée. C’est le début de la guerre de Troie, qui va durer dix ans d'après les récits de l'Iliade.

Guerre de Troie

hsgfhfg

Les Grecs assiègent Troie pendant dix ans. La ville avec sa citadelle Pergame est héroïquement défendue par les Troyens. Le déroulement de la guerre avance malgré tout et chacun de son coté accumule victoires et défaites, des alternances de succès et de revers des deux côtés. Cette guerre devait absolument terminer et il fallait trouver une solution. La flotte grecque qui assiégeait  la ville du coté mer,  décida  de partir et  donner l impression d'abandonner son assiége. Ils armement les bateaux au delà du visuel derrière des rochées, mais avant cela , par ordre et initiative d' Ulysse, les grecques font construire un grand cheval en bois qu'ils abandonnent sur les rivages de Troie. Dans ce cheval caché, un contingent de soldats en armes. Le départ des navires des cotes Troyennes, laisse croire  que les grecques abandonnent la bataille et que la guerre est enfin terminée sans restitution d' Hélène. Contents d'une telle tournée des faits, les Troyens se lâchent à la fête et se dirigent sur les rivages pour récupérer les Grand Cheval en bois pour  l'amener en ville et le garder en souvenir de victoire dédié a la Déesse Pallas-Athena  . La nuit venue, Ulysse aux mille ruses et ses compagnons sort du cheval. Ils ouvrent les portes. Les Grecs, qui n’attendaient que le signal, sortent de leur cachette et viennent aider à mettre à sac la ville dont il ne restera qu'un survivant Enée qui auras le temps de s'en fuir par la mer. Armés jusqu'aux dents, tous les Grecs sont là. Troie est prise et incendiée, les Grecs sont en fureur et rien ne leur résiste. Les hommes sont tués, les femmes et enfants gardés comme esclaves. Ménélas est heureux, il a retrouvé sa femme, Hélène.

Fuite d' enée

fh,dkududku

Enée ne prit pas part au commencement de la guerre de Troie. Mais, un jour qu'il gardait ses troupeaux, il fut attaqué par Achille, qui lui vola une partie de son bétail. Enée se réfugia à Lyrnessos mais toujours poursuivi par Achille, il dut fuir sous la protection de Zeus, et chercher refuge à Troie, où il s'engagea dans l'armée troyenne. Il épousa une des filles de Priam, Creuse, dont il eut un enfant, Ascagne qu il surnommera  Julus. 
Enée, en grec Aineias, fils de Anchise  et de la déesse Aphroditeenée est un Prince de Toie hero de la guerre omonime et aussi un hero de la mytologie romaine, tant chanté par Virgile. Il était un guerrier courageux, il fut l'un des principaux chefs troyens pendant la guerre de Troie, le plus vaillant guerrier après Hector mais il se mettait parfois dans des situations périlleuses, notamment lorsqu'il lutta contre Achille. Lors de la destruction de Troie et le meurtre de Priam et de sa famille, Enée s'enfuit de Troie saccagée, portant son père Anchise, aveugle et paralysé, sur son dos, traînant son fils Ascagne d'une main, tenant dans l'autre les dieux de la cité ainsi que le Palladium, la statuette sacrée de pallas-Athéné. Au cours de la fuite son épouse, Creuse, se perdit. Il allait partir à sa recherche quand son ombre lui apparut en lui indiquant qu'elle était désormais sous la protection d'Aphrodite. Quant à lui, il devait partir avec leur fils Ascagne et fonder une nouvelle dynastie. 

Voyage d' Enée


|    Image Interactive au passage de la souris   |

Au cours d'un voyage mouvementé en Méditerranée décrit dans l'Enéide. Il fit escale en Thrace, passa par Délos, puis arriva en Crète. Pendant plus de sept ans, il erra ensuite sur la mer à la recherche d'un rivage pour l’accueillir, bravant les tempêtes et la colère des divinités, en particulier celle d'Héra. Sur le point de toucher les côtes d'Italie, après avoir fait étape en Sicile, à Drépanon, où le vieil Anchise mourut, les navires d'Énée furent rejetés brusquement par une tempête sur la côte africaine, près de Carthage. La reine Didon, la fondatrice de Carthage, y accueillit le héros et en tomba amoureuse. Au cours d'une partie de chasse alors qu'un orage les a réunis dans une grotte, ils deviennent amants. Mais les dieux ne souhaitaient pas une union entre Didon et Enée ; Zeus ordonna à celui-ci de regagner les rivages de la Sicile, où il reçut l'hospitalité du roi Alceste et il célébra des jeux funèbres en mémoire de son père. Parvenu enfin sur les côtes d'Italie, à Cumes, il décida de reposer quelque temps dans cette ancienne Colonie grecque, et ici il descendit aux Enfers, guidé par la Sibylle, pour consulter l'ombre de son père et l'écouter, il lui dira de fonder une ville ici et créer d'autres dynasties. Revenu parmi les vivants, il se dirigea vers le Latium et la il considère que la terre est favorable pour que une nouvelle famille se développe, ce qu'il fera.

Enée au Latium

kkdudyuly ugc

Reprise la mer, après d'être resté quelque temps a Carthage au près de la reine Elyssa , Didon pour les romains, Enée rentrant dans la Mer Tyrrhénienne, s'approche au cotes péninsulaires de l'Italie du sud  et la , pendant une tempête , près de la région de Lucanie en Calabre, il perd l'un de ces hommes les plus fidèles  Palinure. Il sera enseveli sur la cote même dans ces lieux près d'un roque qui prendra le nom encore existant de Palinuro. Enée se remet en voyage car ces terres de Calabre étaient trop montagneuse et ou le manque de sources d'eau était important. Il continue vers le nord et arrivera dans la terre dicte du "Phalerum" ce peuple les Falerii qui prendront par la suite le dénominatif de Parthénopéens et, à la conquête des romains, cette terre sera appelée Neapolis. Apres une brève permanence pas loin dans la colonie grecque de Cumae ou il parlera à son père Anchise grâce a l'aide de la Sybille, ce dernier l'informera que les troupes grecques son pas loin de le chercher, il fallait donc qu'il dépêche son pas pour trouver un lieu en cette terre pour  se refuser.
Apres deux jours de navigation, dans une belle matinée de soleil se retrouvèrent face à une riche cote avec une belle plaine en arrière, traversée d'un fleuve de grandes dimensions. Il était arrivé sur les terres du roi Latinus, ces habitants des bergers de moyenne facture les Latins, il était au LATIUM..



PrécédentPage 1 sur 6