Ch.3 : Administration in City 

Some texts in the oscan language dating from the 2nd century BC, recall the main local institutions of the city in its first term.

The Chief Magistrate was the MEDDIX, a corresponding term in the latin judex (community) in the what were conferred the powers of the regions; compared to other communities, it could also be defined meddix as Pompeianus. Magistrates of lower rank were mayors and QUESTORES, which loads and skills, were probably related to the Administration and to the maintenance of public order. The 3 offices were the construction of public buildings and collective works, such as roads, bridges, the gates of the city. Public deliberation, are the KUMBENNIO, the citizens ' Assembly and the KUMPARAKINIO, in which admittedly something of a local Senate. Agency official but of great importance in the life of the aristocracy Pompeian, is the VEREIIA, an organization of military origin in Hellenistic period seems to deal with the formation of the youth of the city. We know nothing about the city's electoral system. It is possible that citizens are grouped into five groups (tribes), since the most likely etymology of the name of the town Pompeii, to search in the Oscan PUMPE name, the city of the five districts.

The short life of a municipium laiss2 some vague memory only a few voter registration and the probable mention of one of the most important magistrate of the city, the "questorio" L. Popidius Epidius., Who was the author of the late works of the great portico of tufa south side of the Forum, largely already built and function during the final period Samnite. With the annexation of Pompeii Roman colony, will constituéest a "Ordo decuhorum Romanaes" comprising about 100 members appointed directly by the DEDUCTOR, it is to this aristocracy who owned the magistrates of the city, called "duoviri dicundo iure" c that is to say, responsible for the administration of justice, and "Duoviris aediles", subordinated to the precedents. They were responsible for 1 year term in July but after a period thus took two solar years. Every 5 years, 2 were elected Duoviris Quinquennals in charge of revising the "Censo", the public census and, therefore, the drafting of the list of decuriones.

With the stabilization of the colony, these were recruited among citizens and between the former magistrates. Many inscriptions the last election stage of the city, present on the facades of many private houses, illustrate the promptness of political competition, in which the candidates were supported by corporations of workers, groups of citizens, men and women, although these do not have voting rights. The election took place in the Forum, closing access openings instead by heavy doors and creating temporary corridors, she was transformed into a "fence to the vote '(Saepta). Citizens were assembled in five different voting districts (tribes or curies), expressing their preference as individual units, regardless of the number of voters, making, was not uncommon case of an elected candidate had received a number of votes over his antagonist.

We do know the name of at least four districts, named after neighborhoods resided subscribers to lists: Forensis including the Forum, named after the former Marine Gate, Forensis the door; Saliniensis in the Northwest, where located Salaria door, which is the current holder Herculaneum; Campaniensis, in the northeast section, where is the door Campana, current Vesuvius door, and finally Urbulanensis coinciding with the non encor excavated area of the city, located south of Urbulana door, that is, say the door of the Urbs, today named Nolae door. We do not know the name of the district including the largest in the extended area southeast of the city. An independent corporation created by "magistri" Pagus Augustus Felix administered the Suburbanus, ie the entire region around Pompei


Ch.4 : L'Eruption in Pompei....

Ch.3 : Administration dans la Cité  

le Forum

Certains textes en langage osque datant du 2° siècle avant JC, rappellent les principales institutions locales de la cité dans sa première période.

Le magistrat principal était le MEDDIX, un terme correspondant au latin "judex", (collectivité) au quel étaient conférés les pouvoirs des régions ; en comparaison avec d'autres collectivités, il pourrait également être défini meddix comme Pompeianus. Magistrats de rang inférieur ont été les EDILES et les QUESTORES, dont les charges et les compétences, étaient probablement liées à l'Administration et au  maintien de l'ordre public. Les 3 magistratures s'occupaient de la construction de bâtiments publics et œuvres collectives, comme les routes, les ponts, les portes de la cité. Les organismes de délibération public, sont le KUMBENNIO, l'assemblée des citoyens et la KUMPARAKINIO, dans laquelle il faut reconnaître une sorte de Sénat local. Organisme non officiel mais de grande importance à la vie collective de l'aristocratie pompéienne, est le VEREIIA, une organisation d'origine militaire que en période hellénistique semble s'occuper de la formation de la Jeunesse de la ville. Nous ne savons rien sur le système électoral de la ville. Il est possible que les citoyens soient regroupées en cinq groupes ( tribus ), puisque  la plus probable étymologie du nom de la ville Pompéi, soit à rechercher dans le nom Osque PUMPE, à savoir la "ville des cinq districts".

Place du forum

La brève existence du MUNICIPIUM  a laiss2 quelque vague souvenir  seulement en quelques inscription électorale et dans la probable mention de l'un des magistrat le plus important de la cité, le "questorio", L. Popidius Epidius., qui a été l'auteur de la fin des ouvrages du grand portique en tuf du coté sud du Forum,  en grande partie déjà construit et en fonction au cours de la période  finale Samnite. Avec l'annexion de Pompéi à Colonie Romaine, sera constituéest un "Ordo decuhorum Romanaes" comprenant environ 100 membres nommés directement par le DEDUCTOR, c'est bien à cette aristocratie qui appartenaient les magistrats de la ville, appelé "duoviri iure dicundo" c'est-à-dire chargés de l' administration de la Justice , et les "Duoviris Aediles", subordonnés aux précédents. Ils étaient en charge pour 1 an et durée de juillet à Mais suivant, une période qui prenait donc 2 ans solaires. Tous les 5 ans, étaient élus 2 Duoviris Quinquennales, en charge de la révision du "Censo" , le recensement public,  et, par conséquent, la redaction de la liste des  Decuriones.   

Ile du forum

Avec la stabilisation de la colonie, ces derniers étaient recrutés parmi les citoyens et entre les ex-magistrats. Nombreuses inscriptions de la dernière étape électorale de la ville, présents sur les façades de nombreuses maisons privées, illustrent la promptitude de concurrence politique, dans lequel les candidats étaient soutenues par des corporations de travailleurs, des groupes de citoyens, hommes et femmes, bien que ces dernières  n'avaient pas droit de vote. L'élection avait lieu dans le Forum, en fermant les ouvertures d'accès à la place par des lourdes portes et en créant des couloirs temporaires, elle était transformée en "clôture pour le vote ' (saepta). Les Citoyens étaient assemblés en cinq différentes circonscriptions de vote (tribus ou curies), exprimant leur préférence comme des unités individuelles, indépendamment du nombre des votants, ainsi faisant, n'était pas rare le cas d''un candidat élu avais reçu un certain nombre de voix par rapport à son antagoniste. 

la basilique

Nous savons avec certitude le nom d'au moins quatre circonscriptions, qui tire son nom des quartiers où résidaient les abonnés aux listes : Forensis comprenant le Forum, nommé d'après l'ancienne Porte Marine, la porte Forensis; Saliniensis dans le Nord-Ouest, où se située la porte Salaria, qui est la actuelle Porte Herculanum; Campaniensis, dans le secteur nord-est, où est la porte Campana, l'actuelle porte Vésuve,  et enfin Urbulanensis qui coïncide avec la zone non encor fouillée de la ville, située au sud de la porte Urbulana, c'est-à-dire la porte de l'Urbs, aujourd'hui nommée porte Nolae. Nous ne savons pas le nom de la circonscription comprenant le grand quartier prolongé dans le sud-est de la ville. Un organisme autonome créé par "magistri", administrait le Pagus Augustus Félix Suburbanus, à savoir l'ensemble de la région autour de Pompei 


Ch.4 : L'Eruption...