Ch.20 : Water Vésuvien  

Pompeii and Herculaneum is located as many other ancient Vesuvian cities in the Ager vesuvianum, a large valley around Vesuvius well for 200 kms.  The eruptions and lava material made this extremely fertile plain rich in minerals; this is not a case that the same name derives from the Latin Campania "Felix Campaniae" or rich country for the same agricultural wealth. When we speak of volcanic earth, including talking about lack of water course as it evaporates into the depths by volcanic glows.  Pompeii and many other cities of the plain were fed into a first moment of its origins Sarnum of water that ran nearby, but it will soon become insufficient.

With the annexation of the region to Rome as Coloniae Corneliae Veneriae, the water needed increases as cities grow and prosper. In a first moment, the waters from the Apennine sources of Benevento region feed the whole Vesuvian area, Pompei, Herculaneum, Stabia, Nuceriae, Oplontis, Bosco and even Neapolis are fed by these waters that soon they too will become insufficient.

The opportunity of a larger water system is given by the installation of the Silla Naval Fleet at Misenum extremely strategic position was possible because by controlling the Bay of Neapolis, and an easier route and easy to nearby settlements as important and Cuma.  The most important waters of the plain of the River Serinum were those that had its sources in the region Avellinum at Serinum, and had the necessary strength to reach the Misenum and therefore supply the entire full, understood Neapolis .  An important and extensive project for Rome to browse both road these waters from the mountains to feed the new Campanes colonies.

The aqueduct of Aquee Augustae was built in the 1st century AD the year 10 AD, with a length of 145 km;  in a first moment was erroneously attributed to the Emperor Claudius and Augustus precisely.  He was born natural pools Food once water sources Mount Serinum What converged in the vicinity of Avellino.  By these waters traversed a long road, almost everything on the surface, to reach around Palmae. Ici une premier ramification permettait d'atteindre Pompéi, Oplontis, Stabiae. Here a first branching allowed to reach Pompeii, Oplontis, Stabiae.  Then the water went into the plain of Mount Vesuvius up to Cisternum (Tank), and one second branch went to Herculaneum, and continuing until the Neapolis, Puteolis, so Bacolis Misenum.

Thanks to an inscription recalling the period of Constantine placed behind the network can know the name of Consul Decimus Satrius Ragonianum, head waters of campane conduit.
 In 1910, excavation work was conducted on the North side of the City of Pompeii and foundations were found, it was fortified walls remains missing in these places, a large wall line 2 m opus quadratum and a tower base incertum opus, it was the already mentioned door Capuae missing among the doors (see Door Capuae, c. Walls and doors).

Under the base of the tower, was found a partially closed channel.  Part of this channel was actually already come to light during the first phase of work, but it was not possible to identify or establish if he went or if he stopped the.
 As for the water supply of Pompeii, one must distinguish a first or earliest period last Pompeians take water from the river Sarnum most likely, the important rivers, little away from the city, and deified by Subsequently, and other watercourses or then dug inside the city, or even rainwater.  More articulated, is against the study on the supply of drinking water by an aqueduct in Pompeii, especially because we have no literary sources relating to Campans aqueducts, at least in this first moment.

 Many are against the evidence of the checks carried out and the technical staff at the water system in the city Vesuvius as castellum aquae, the pillars for the "overflow" diramations pipes and the valves used.
 As for the construction period of a Pompeian aqueduct, there are three assumptions supported by research: 1) the aqueduct was built at the time of the founding of the Roman colony by Augustus era;  2) the aqueduct was built during the reign of Emperor Augustus and it was actually a branch of the great aqueduct built at that time in Campania, and powered by sources of Serinum River;  3) the aqueduct was built under the Emperor Claudius.  The second hypothesis is the most common among specialists in time since Augustus, many construction projects were carried out in Campania, by the will of the emperor.

To support this, it was necessary to take into account the technical construction of the original parts of the aqueduct, which are technical opus reticulatum also belonging to Castellum aquae and that can be dated from the period of Augustus so we hold that the aqueduct of the ancient city of Pompei, is fed by the waters of Serinum and probably its parts opus latericium be attributed to restorations performed in the period after the earthquake of 62 AD .
 In such a case we confirm, was the inscription found in Pozzuoli (Puteolis ..), the text in a first moment was not read correctly, but after a closer reading, allowed to check the fault about a " heart (Atori, Aug aquae (ustae, "renseignait indication of the presence of an aqueduct, the Aqua Augustus to Puteolis.

To this must be added first epigraph that found in the territory of the Municipality of Serino or one transfers the restoration work done in time Costantinienne on "aqueductum Augusteii sinkhole."  The third hypothesis about the chronology of the aqueduct, bringing its construction in Claudian period, is based on a few lead fistulas, set an aqueduct and found in the Phlegrean area on which was postponed the name "Claudii Augustii" with name the aqueduct which was recognized in the first time.  Regarding the water supply of Pompei and the sources that fed water pipes, some assumptions: 1) the sources are those of Serinum in the Apennines, 2) are the sources of Avella in a first time and then that of Serinum (... anyway .. mixed with the first), and finally 3) the sources are located on the slopes of Vesuvius.

To this must be added first epigraph that found in the territory of the Municipality of Serino or one transfers the restoration work done in time Costantinienne on "aqueductum Augusteii sinkhole."  The third hypothesis about the chronology of the aqueduct, bringing its construction in Claudian period, is based on a few lead fistulas, set an aqueduct and found in the Phlegrean area on which was postponed the name "Claudii Augustii" with name the aqueduct which was recognized in the first time.  Regarding the water supply of Pompei and the sources that fed water pipes, some assumptions: 1) the sources are those of Serinum in the Apennines, 2) are the sources of Avella in a first time and then that of Serinum (... anyway .. mixed with the first), and finally 3) the sources are located on the slopes of Vesuvius.

In particular the researchers support the first theory, and they reconstruct the route of the long aqueduct that snaked for tens of kilometers.  The deferred course and supposedly holds this many points in the description made in studies in the 16th century by the Viceroy of Naples who wanted to restore the old Serino aqueduct to carry water in Naples; sur les anciens documents en langue napolitaine, on peut lires:….. on the old documents in Neapolitan language, can lire ... ..

"..... And this water not only went to the designated cities in the projects, but also to other sites, because in the Palmae plan, a diramation was decided that was up Nolae, and when they was fortified in the excavation works were found the dictated pipes ... And further south of this path in the town of Palmae, a new diramation was decided to supply the country Pompeii, and through it all the cities and villas by it derived ergo Oplontis, Stabiae and Bosco farms, because in these places the water was necessary ... .And continued the journey to Neapolis or foot of the Vesuvius mountain was built a tank shell that was drifting towards the coast in the direction of the city Hercules' .... "

Therefore seek to determine the exact sources of the Pompeian aqueduct, the Kyoto Institute of Japan Studies Paleological performed in Pompeii, a few samples in the tank of the Baths of Stabiae, in the pillars for the "overflow" and the castellum aquae positioned 42 m height; en particulier,  especially in the latter building, the limestone remnants were sampled in two areas on the bottom of the basin and on the walls, above the water introducing hole where limestone band was present.The samples have also been performed in a few villa near Pompeii, and that is to say in the old Torre Annunziata Oplontis, in the pool of the Villa At Stabiae and near Thermes Palmae Nunziante. Finally search the sites around.

Chemical analyzes performed on the remains of limestone champions, have established that the waters of Stabiae Baths and pillars of "overflow" the fountains of the crossroads, the aqueduct at Sarno in locality Mure d'Arce there and what Palmae whose conduct is opus reticulatum, came from all sources of Serinum.
 Then analyzes have established that were different from the fountains of waters against that fueled driving opus latericium of the aqueduct of Palmae for which it could be assumed that when the aqueduct was rebuilt in time Costantinienne were used from different sources those of the aqueduct Augustus. Very interesting also analyzes champions limestone taken from the castellum aquae.

The results of these analyzes would suggest therefore that the water was coming in Pompeii, just before the eruption of Vesuvius, was not that of the sources Serinum perhaps because the aqueduct that used them had been damaged the earthquake of 62 AD;  pending it in its entirety, in Pompeii, we planned to get water from other sources, different than at the time of this study have not been defined encor.
 Also, as he said, analyzes have shown that the waters of the tank Baths of Stabiae and pillars for "overflow" were those of Serinum, one could infer that the water system in these buildings at the time of the eruption of Vesuvius they were not in operation.
 In consideration of all that has been analyzed and discussed, one can make the following assumptions:

1) some specialists argue that Pompeii had an aqueduct at the time of the deduction of the colony, fed by the waters that had just Avella and that time Augustus was developed with mixed waters in the same locality and Serinum sources.  This hypothesis remains present because they have not been found the remains of this aqueduct any datable to the last phase of the Republic and its reconstruction remains hypothetical.  To confirm or deny this hypothesis would be timely indeed dig underneath the castellum aquae to determine any previous phases, given that today the visible building seems to date from the Augustus era.  If this is accurate alor hypotese it would simply mean that Pompei was supplied by a source to it, not very distant to reduce travel distances.
 2) the aqueduct of Pompei was a diramation the aqueduct of Augustus Serinum, which supplied the entire region, and which had in it the waters of so many other sources to increase pressure and seen as the distance ; il devais se détacher être Palmae et Sarnum. he had to come off and be Palmae Sarnum.

3) it is likely that part of the aqueduct built in Augustus era, for reasons unknown to us were restored in time of Claudius, perhaps for Puteolis area because here fistulas postpone the name of the Emperor .
 4) in the last 79 years before, Pompeii was served by an aqueduct to which the waters were not those of Serinum, as evidenced by the chemical analysis of limestone taken from the walls of the castellum aquae.  It is therefore possible for an event unknown to us, may be the 1 ° 62 quake, it was no longer possible to use the leads of the aqueduct of Serinum and then to Pompeii was appealed to the construction of another Aqueduct using other sources, they should not be very remote

Today, based on our knowledge, we know that at least in the time of Augustus the waters that fed Pompeii and Herculaneum and other cities were, that of Augustus Aqueduct Serinum and therefore would be very useful ask who was the deity depicted on the walls of Castellum Aquee Pompei and that it dates from the time of Augustus. To answer this question, we can make two assumptions encor:
 1) the deity represented the God of Water and probably the God Sarnum.
 2) the deity represented Serinium God, and in this case we are facing the first iconographic representation of Serinium.

In Pompeian houses through the roof opening in the Atrium, the welcomed compluvium rainwater that fell in Impluvium and buried here in a large tank, as well as a reserve of water for house by a small and placed here, we could use it for the needs of the house. L'aqueduc du Mont Serino donnera une amélioration pour le ravitaillement hydrique; The aqueduct of Serino Mont give an improvement to the water supply; Castellum Aquee on the heights of the city, and they were divided into three main pipelines;  using the natural slope of the city, through lead pipes under the sidewalks, the water was at junctions or to regain pressure, dated back pilasters on which were placed tanks that were pressure regulators. High availability of water that the city served by these 40 public fountains and for the rich, she came straight into the house, not to mention the use to which it was in the baths.

There was not a real sewer system, except in the area close to the Forum.  The unloading water flooded the streets also out of the enclosure walls by special openings.  The sidewalks were high respects to the street and to cross it was necessary to use the 'crosswalk' formed by large lava blocks placed there;  in case of heavy rain the streets were completely flooded and these passages are checked very effective too.  For latrines had adopted an evacuation system for solid in underground pipelines, the cloaca, while the liquid was collected as was a starch acid and therefore intended for corporations of Foulonnes, public laundromats.

However Pompey certainly not because Sarnum forgot the primary source of water in the city, and beyond these waters were the result of fundamental importance to be able to get the goods from the coast to the hinterland of Campania; after that, we can think of two river deities venerated in the Vesuvian city, the God Sarnum he assured the Pompeians shops, and the God Serinum he assured them for a few decades, the supply of 'potable water.

Ch.22 : Aqueduc Vesuvien  

Plan Aqueduc de Serinum

Pompéi est situé comme Herculanum et nombreuses autres villes anciennes vésuviennes, dans l'Ager vesuvianum, une grande vallée qui entoure le Vésuve pour bien 200 kms. Les éruptions et le matériel lavique ont rendu cette plaine extrêmement fertile et riche en sels minéraux; ce n'est pas un cas que le nom même de la Campanie dérive du latin "Campaniae Félix" ou campagne riche pour la richesse même agricole. Quand on parle de terre volcanique, on parle notamment de manque d'eau évidemment car dans les profondeurs elle évapore par les incandescences volcaniques. Pompéi et nombreuses autres villes de la plaine étaient alimentées dans un moment premier de ses origines par les eaux du Sarnum qui courait tout près, mais qu'il deviendra bientôt insuffisant.

Plan Tour 1 de Capuae

Avec l'annexion de la région à Rome comme Coloniae Corneliae Veneriae, le besoin hydrique augmente car les cités grandissent et prospèrent. Dans un premier moment, les eaux venant des sources des Apennins de la région de Benevento alimentent toute la région vésuvienne, Pompei, Herculanum, Stabie, Nuceriae, Oplontis, Bosco et même Neapolis sont alimentées par ces eaux qui bientôt elles aussi vont devenir insuffisantes. 

image 4f

L'occasion d'un réseau hydrique plus important est donnée par l'installation de la Flotte navale de Silla au Misène, position extrêmement stratégique car d'ici était possible le contrôle de toute la baie de Neapolis, ainsi que une voie plus facile et simple vers les colonies voisines et importants comme Cuma. Les eaux les plus importantes de la plaine étaient celles du Fleuve Serinum qui avaient ses sources dans la région d'Avellinum, à Serinum, et qui avaient la force nécessaire d'arriver jusqu'à le Misenum et donc alimenter toute la pleine, Neapolis comprise. Un projet important et vaste pour Rome de faire parcourir tant de route a ces eaux venant des montagnes pour alimenter les nouvelles colonies campanes.

image 4g

L'aqueduc des Aquae Augustae fut construit au 1° siècle, l'an 10 apr JC, pour une longueur de 145 kms; dans un premier moment fut attribué erronément à l'Empereur Claudius, puis justement à Auguste. Il naissait des bassins naturels alimentes des eaux des sources du Mont Serinum qu'y confluaient, dans les alentours d'Avellino. D'ici ces eaux parcourait un long trajet, presque tout en surface, pour joindre les alentours de Palmae. Ici une premier ramification permettait d'atteindre Pompéi, Oplontis, Stabiae. Ensuite l'aqueduc continuait dans la plaine du Vésuve jusqu'à à Cisternum (Citerne), et la une seconde ramification allait à Herculanum, puis en continuant jusqu'à le Neapolis, Puteolis, Bacolis donc Misenum.

image 4h

Grace à une inscription rappelant la période de Constantin placé à l'origine du réseau, est possible connaître le nom du Consul Decimus Satrius Ragonianum, responsable des eaux du conduit campane.
En 1910, des travaux de creusement ont été menés sur le coté Nord de la Cité de Pompéi et des fondations ont été retrouvées, il s'agissait des restes de murs fortifiés qui manquait en ces lieux, un trait de mur large de 2 m en opus quadratum et une base de tour en opus incertum, il s'agissait de la déjà citée Porte de Capuae qui manquait parmi les Portes, (voir Porte Capuae , chap. Murs et Portes). 

image 4h

Sous la base de la tour, fut retrouvé un canal en partie obturé. Partie de ce canal était en réalité déjà venue en lumière pendant la première phase des travaux, mais il n'avait pas été possible de l'identifier ni d'établir s'il continuait ou s'il s'arrêtait la.
En ce qui concerne l'approvisionnement hydrique de Pompéi, il faut distinguer une première période plus ancienne ou les Pompéiens durent prélever l'eau du fleuve Sarnum très probablement, l'important cours d'eau, peu loin de la ville, et divinisé par la suite, et d'autres cours d'eau ou puis creusés à l'intérieur de la ville, voir même l'eau de pluie. Plus articulé, est par contre l'étude relative à l'approvisionnement de l'eau potable à Pompéi par un aqueduc, surtout parce que nous n'avons pas sources littéraires relatives à des aqueducs campans, au moins en ce premier moment.

qfqeghehdfh

 Beaucoup sont par contre les témoignages des contrôles effectués et des techniques employés à l'installation hydrique dans la ville vésuvienne comme le castellum aquae, les piliers pour le "trop plein", les tubes et les diramations, les vannes utilisées.
Quant à la période de construction de un aqueduc pompéien, il ya trois hypothèses soutenues par des chercheurs: 1) l'aqueduc a été construit à l'époque de la fondation de la colonie romaine en époque Auguste; 2) l'aqueduc a été construit sous le règne de l'empereur Auguste et effectivement il était une branche du grand aqueduc construit à cette époque en Campanie, et alimenté par les sources du fleuve Serinum; 3) l'aqueduc a été construit sous l'Empereur Claudius. La seconde hypothèse est la plus répandue parmi les spécialistes puisque en époque Auguste, nombreux projets de construction furent réalisés en Campanie, par la volonté de l'empereur.

image 4j

A soutenir cela, était nécessaire de prendre en compte la technique de construction des pièces d'origine de l'aqueduc, qui sont de technique d'opus reticulatum appartenant également au castellum aquae et que l'on peut dater de la période d'Auguste, donc l'on retiens que l'aqueduc de l'ancienne ville de Pompei, soit alimenté par les eaux du Serinum et que sans doute ses parties en opus latericium doivent être attribuées à des restaurations exécutées dans la période du séisme du 62 apr JC.
À nous confirmez telle hypothèse, fut l'inscription retrouvée à Pouzzoles ( Puteolis..) dont le texte dans un moment premier ne fut pas lu correctement, mais que après une lecture plus attentive, permit de vérifier la faute à propos d'un "cur(atori, aquae Aug(ustae,", indication qui renseignait sur la présence d'un aqueduc, l'Aqua Auguste, à Puteolis.

image 4k

À cette première épigraphe il faut ajouter celle retrouvée dans le territoire de la Commune de Serino ou l'on reporte des travaux de restauration effectués en époque Costantinienne sur "l'aqueductum fontis Augusteii." La troisième hypothèse sur la chronologie de l'aqueduc, mettant sa construction en époque Claudienne, se base sur quelques fistules de plomb, attribuez à un aqueduc et retrouvée dans la zone Phlégréenne sur lequel avait été reporté le nom "Claudii Augustii", nom avec lequel l'aqueduc a été reconnu dans un premier moment. Concernant l'approvisionnement d'eau de Pompei et les sources qui ont alimenté en eau les conduits, quelques hypothèses : 1) les sources sont bien celles de Serinum dans les Apennins, 2) les sources sont celle de Avella dans un premier moment et ensuite celle du Serinum (…en tout cas mélangées aux premières..), et enfin 3) les sources sont situées sur les pentes du Vésuve.

image 4l

À cette première épigraphe il faut ajouter celle retrouvée dans le territoire de la Commune de Serino ou l'on reporte des travaux de restauration effectués en époque Costantinienne sur "l'aqueductum fontis Augusteii." La troisième hypothèse sur la chronologie de l'aqueduc, mettant sa construction en époque Claudienne, se base sur quelques fistules de plomb, attribuez à un aqueduc et retrouvée dans la zone Phlégréenne sur lequel avait été reporté le nom "Claudii Augustii", nom avec lequel l'aqueduc a été reconnu dans un premier moment. Concernant l'approvisionnement d'eau de Pompei et les sources qui ont alimenté en eau les conduits, quelques hypothèses : 1) les sources sont bien celles de Serinum dans les Apennins, 2) les sources sont celle de Avella dans un premier moment et ensuite celle du Serinum (…en tout cas mélangées aux premières..), et enfin 3) les sources sont situées sur les pentes du Vésuve.

image 4m

En particulier les chercheurs soutiennent la première thèse, et ils reconstruisent le parcours du long aqueduc qu'il serpentait pour dizaines de kilomètres. Le parcours reporté et supposé, tient présent en nombreux points la description fait dans les études effectuées au 16° siècle pour part du Vice-roi de Naples qui voulait rétablir l'ancien aqueduc de Serino pour porter l'eau à Naples; sur les anciens documents en langue napolitaine, on peut lires:…..

image 4q

"………Et cette eau non seulement allait aux villes désignées dans les projets, mais à d'autres sites aussi, car dans le plan de Palmae, une diramation avait été décidée qui devait aller jusqu'à Nolae, et quand elles fut fortifiée, dans les travaux de excavation furent retrouvées les dictes conduits…Et plus au sud de ce trajet, dans la commune de Palmae, une nouvelle diramation fut décidée pour alimenter la campagne de Pompeii, et par elle toutes les cités et villas par elle dérivées ergo Oplontis, Stabiae et les fermes de Bosco, car en ces lieux l'eau était nécessaire….Et le trajet continuait vers Neapolis ou au pied de la montagne Vésuvius fut construite un réservoir de citerne qui devait dériver vers la cote en direction de la cité d' Hercule……..… " 

image 4s

Pour chercher donc de déterminer les sources exactes de l'aqueduc pompeien, le Japan Institute of Paleological Studies de Kyoto a exécuté à Pompéi, quelques échantillonnages dans la citerne des Thermes de Stabiae, dans les piliers pour le "trop plein" et dans le castellum aquae positionné à hauteur m 42; en particulier, dans ce dernier bâtiment, les restes de calcaire ont été échantillonnés en deux zones, sur le fond de la vasque et sur les murs, au-dessus du trou d'introduction de l'eau où une bande de calcaires était présente. Les échantillonnages ont d'été exécutés aussi en quelques villa autour de Pompei , et c'est-à-dire à Torre annunziata l'ancienne Oplontis, dans la piscine de la Villa À de Stabiae et près des Thermes Nunziante à Palmae. Enfin des recherches dans les sites autour.

image 4d

Les analyses chimiques exécutées sur les restes de calcaires championnés, ont établi que les eaux des Thermes de Stabiae et des piliers du " trop plein" aux fontaines des carrefours, de l'aqueduc au Sarno, en localité il Mure d'Arce et de ce de Palmae dont le conduite est en opus reticulatum, toutes venaient des sources du Serinum.
Puis Les analyses ont établi que différents étaient par contre les sources des eaux qui alimentaient la conduite en opus latericium de l'aqueduc de Palmae pour lequel on pourrait supposer que quand l'aqueduc fut reconstruit en époque Costantinienne, ont été utilisées des sources différentes de celles de l'aqueduc Auguste. Très intéressants aussi les analyses des champions de calcaire prélevé dans le castellum aquae. 

image 4f

Le résultat des ces analyses laisserait donc supposer que l'eau qui arrivait à Pompéi, peu avant l'éruption du Vésuve, n'était pas celle des sources du Serinum peut-être parce que l'aqueduc qui les utilisait, avait été endommagé pendant le tremblement de terre du 62 d.C.; dans l' attente qu'il soit dans sa totalité, à Pompéi, on a prévu de faire arriver l'eau de d'autres sources, différentes, que au moment de cet étude n'ont pas encor été définies.
En outre, comme il s'est déclaré, les analyses ont établi que les eaux de la citerne des Thermes de Stabiae et les piliers pour "le trop plein" étaient celles du Serinum, l'on pourrait déduire que le système hydrique en ces bâtiments, au moment de l'éruption du Vésuve ils n'étaient pas en fonction.
En considération de tout ce qui a été analysé et discuté, on peut formuler les hypothèses suivantes:

image 4g

1) quelques spécialistes soutiennent que Pompéi avait déjà un aqueduc à l'époque de la déduction de la colonie, alimenté par les eaux qui venaient d'Avella et qu'en époque Auguste aurait été développé avec des eaux mixtes de la même localité et des sources du Serinum. Cette hypothèse reste actuelle car ils n'ont pas été retrouvés les restes de cet aqueduc datable éventuel à la dernière phase de la République et sa reconstruction reste donc hypothétique. Pour confirmer ou démentir cette hypothèse serait en effet opportun creuser par-dessous le castellum aquae pour déterminer la phases précédentes éventuelles, vu qu'aujourd'hui le bâtiment visible semble les dater d'époque Auguste. Si cette hypotese serait exacte alor cela voudrait dire simplement que Pompei était alimentées par une source à elle, pas très distante pour réduire les distances de parcours.
2) l'aqueduc de Pompei était une diramation de l'aqueduc Auguste de Serinum, qui alimentait toute la région, et qui avait en lui les eaux de tant d'autres sources pour l'augmenter en qualité et pression vu la distance à parcourir; il devais se détacher être Palmae et Sarnum.

image 4h

3) il est probable qu'une partie de l'aqueduc construite en époque Auguste, pour causes à nous inconnues aient été restaurées en époque de Claudius, peut-être pour la zone de Puteolis car ici les fistules reportent le nom de l'Empereur.
4) dans les derniers années avant les 79, Pompéi était servie par un aqueduc pour lequel les eaux n'étaient pas celles du Serinum, comme le témoignent les analyses chimiques des calcaires prélevé sur les murs du castellum aquae. Il est possible donc que pour un événement à nous inconnu, peut etre le 1° tremblement de 62, il ne fût plus possible d'utiliser le conduit de l'aqueduc du Serinum et ensuite pour Pompéi on pourvut à la construction d'un autre aqueduc en utilisant d'autres sources, qu'ils ne devaient pas être très distants

image 4j

Aujourd'hui, sur la base de nos connaissances, nous savons qu'au moins en époque d'Auguste les eaux qui alimentaient Pompei et Herculanum ainsi que les autres villes, étaient celle de l'Aqueduc Auguste de Serinum et donc serait très utile de se demander qui était la divinité représentée sur les parois du castellum Aquee à Pompei et que l'on date de l'époque d'Auguste. Pour répondre à cette question, l'on peut formuler encor deux hypothèses:
1) la divinité représentait le Dieu des eaux et sans doute le Dieu Sarnum.
2) la divinité représentait le Dieu Serinium, et dans ce cas nous sommes face à la première représentation iconographique du Serinium.

image 4k

aDans les maisons pompéiennes, grâce à l'ouverture du toit dans l'Atrium, le Compluvium accueillait l'eau de pluie qui tombait dans l'Impluvium et d'ici dans une grande Citerne enterrée, constituant ainsi une réserve d' eau pour la maison, par un petit puis ici placé, on pouvais l'utiliser pour les besoins de la maison. L'aqueduc du Mont Serino donnera une amélioration pour le ravitaillement hydrique; L'eau arrivait dans un répartiteur, le Castèllum Aquae sur les hauteurs de la cité, et la elles étaient reparties en trois conduites principaux; en utilisant la pente naturelle de la cité, par des tubes en plomb sous les trottoirs, l eau arrivait aux carrefours ou pour regagner de la pression, remontait des pilastres sur lesquels étaient placés des réservoirs qui faisaient de régulateurs de pression. Une grande disponibilité d'eau que desservait la cité par ces 40 fontaines publiques et pour les plus aisés, elle arrivait directement dans la maison, sans compter l'utilisation que l'on faisait dans les Thermes. 

image 4l

Il y n'avait pas un système véritable d'égout, sauf dans la zone proche au Forum. L'eau de déchargement inondait les rues en sortant aussi de l'enclos des murs par des ouvertures spéciales. Les trottoirs étaient haut respects à la rue, et pour la traverser fallait utiliser les 'passages pour piétons' constitués par grands blocs de lave là placés; en cas de fortes pluies les rues étaient complètement inondées et ces passages se vérifiés très efficace aussi. Pour les latrines on avait adopté un système d'évacuations pour les solides dans des canalisations enterrés, la Cloaca, pendant que les liquides étaient recueillis car était un acide d'amidon et donc destiné aux corporations des Foulonnes, les laveries publiques. 

image 4m

Cependant les Pompéiens n'oublièrent certainement pas le Sarnum car première source d eau de la cité, et par la suite ces eaux résultaient d'importance fondamentale pour pouvoir faire arriver les marchandises de la côte dans l'arrière-pays de la Campanie; à la suite de cela, l'on peut penser a deux Divinités fluviales vénérées dans la cité vésuvienne, le Dieu Sarnum qu'il assurait aux Pompéiens les commerces, et le Dieu Serinum qu'il leur assura pour quelques décennies, l'approvisionnement d'eau potable.